Drupal in Japan

Drupal Growth in the Land of the Rising Sun

img
CI&T
05/08/2018
Drupal in Japan

Japan, the country known as “the land of the rising sun”, is home to a deeply rooted culture of respect, spectacularly fresh cuisine, and some of the politest people in the world; but it is also the birthplace of the Toyota’s renowned manufacturing system. Toyota’s manufacturing system, Lean manufacturing (or simply “Lean”), is a systematic method to minimize waste without sacrificing productivity and quality. In practice, this means reducing anything and everything that is not adding value to the final product. 

Lean manufacturing involves using a set of principles to achieve improvements in productivity and quality via continuous Kaizen (a Japanese word meaning “change for better”). These principles were adopted many years ago by the organization I work for, CI&T, a Brazilian company and global technology solutions partner, to deliver digital solutions to the world’s biggest companies. This time, CI&T has delved deep into the Japanese market by leveraging Drupal to take on projects at the top of digital transformation. 

Taking into account (1) The historical relationship between Lean and Japan; and (2) The CI&T experience leveraging “Lean” and agile projects, one would think that implementing agile techniques in software development process would be simple and quick, right? Unfortunately, the reality is different. Companies in Japan tend to be comfortable with their current situation of having reliable numbers and metrics, even if it’s a product of obsolete processes and systems. As digital values change, the Japanese market seems to be taking a different course from the rest of the world. This could also be explained in part by the overzealous nature of the Japanese culture. The Japanese have an inclination to be grateful towards sites, systems, and processes that have benefitted them over the years. 

Nevertheless, the Drupal community in Japan may not be huge, but it has been growing consistently. We also see contributions on Japanese translations growing fast and regularly observe several Japanese contributors pushing bug fixes and improvements. Monthly meet-ups are also available for people to discuss Drupal issues, present custom features, or to learn more about the powerful framework. There is even a Slack channel for regular communication and collaboration. Moreover, we at CI&T have learned that the Drupal learning curve in Japan is also not that steep. At the beginning of 2016, CI&T was faced with a huge challenge: to create and transform products with teams that had little to no Drupal knowledge whatsoever. However, through active participation in immersive training sessions known as DOJOs (another Japanese term meaning “place of the Way”), CI&T quickly became the largest Drupal 8 Acquia Certified company in Japan.

CI&T globally also recognizes that contribution is a key concept in Open Source projects, and has participated in the many ways of getting involved in the Drupal Community: giving user support, writing documentation, translating documents, testing or developing features, and even holding Drupal themed hackathons and organizing/sponsoring Drupal events. Giving back to the community is an important and effective way of selling Drupal in Japan as it allows us to provide resources to those that may be interested in adopting Drupal as an enterprise CMS, thus creating more business opportunities. 

Given that technology grows in an exponential way, companies are forced to adapt or be left behind. HTML pages with simple CSS were replaced by CMS systems, with elegant and responsive layouts. Spreadsheets were replaced by web systems that were designed specifically for client’s needs. These improvements have been increasing the final user's expectations and continuously raise the bar. Moreover, as the market grows bigger, the number of competitors naturally becomes higher. Innovation becomes an essential ingredient in a successful company and instrumental in overcoming the competition. This is the context in which Drupal serves as a huge advantage in the Japanese market. Paired with amazing out-of-the-box CMS capabilities and a collaborative open source atmosphere, utilizing Drupal in Japan alongside CI&T’s lean expertise has allowed us to have a market differential and focus on what really matters: maximize value activation for our customers and their clients. 

As soon as companies start to open up to the idea of replacing the traditional HTML website with a Drupal CMS, it is then possible to also start introducing lean concepts. CI&T has taken advantage of this change in mindset to produce a successful example of lean transformation with Drupal: Astellas Pharma Inc..

Astellas Pharma Inc., a Japanese pharmaceutical company with worldwide presence, had an ambitious goal to renew their global website, as well as update each individual local country site. Each website’s objective was to provide important pharmaceutical information in a timely manner, and to create and maintain a channel between the company and its stakeholders. Given the vast number of websites included in this global rollout, reusability between sites was an important factor to keep in mind to optimize efficiency. Drupal, with its standards, features and module add-on capabilities, quickly became the technology of choice and has indeed proven to be flexible enough to serve the needs of more than 40 different local websites. 

Perhaps what is even more significant than the above project choosing Drupal as their chief technology, is that they started to get involved in changing their own internal processes. As they became increasingly open to this new way of thinking, they began to publicly embrace and spread Lean methodology through press release interviews and country-wide IT events, praising both agile and Drupal. This has been a great step in propelling the lean transformation in Japan, although there is still much to be done to bring more digital projects towards a fully lean mindset. 

I believe that this will be a worthwhile challenge, however, as Japan’s ever-growing IT industry and growing number of companies looking for alternatives against their competitors create a favorable environment to catalyze digital transformation, with Drupal at the forefront to start a lean revolution.

Drupal in Japan

Drupal在“日出之国”的增长

img
思艾特
05/08/2018
Drupal in Japan

日本这个被称为“日出之地”的国家,拥有深深扎根的尊重与谦卑文化、新鲜美味的和食以及礼貌的民众,同时它也是著名的丰田生产系统的诞生地。丰田生产体系、精益生产(简称为“精益”)是一种系统性的方法,可以在不牺牲生产力和质量的前提下最大限度地减少浪费。在实践中,这意味着消除生产活动任何不能为最终产品增加价值的环节和流程。

精益生产的原则之一是通过持续的改善(日文词为“Kaizen”)来提高生产力和质量。我所任职的企业,全球性数字化技术解决方案提供商CI&T,在多年前就已经开始采用这些原则。这一次,CI&T利用开展基于Drupal的数字化转型项目的契机,深入探索了该思想的发源地——日本市场。

考虑到精益与日本的历史关系,以及CI&T运用精益和敏捷管理项目的丰富经验,人们会认为在日本的软件开发项目中实施敏捷技术对我们来说只是小菜一碟,对吗?可惜的是,现实并非如此。很多日本企业安于目前拥有可靠数字和指标的现状,同时日本人对多年来令他们受益的网站、系统和流程抱有感激之情,所以即使一个产品的流程和系统已经过时,他们也不会轻易替换掉。

尽管日本的Drupal社区不是很大,但它一直在持续增长。我们能看到日文翻译相关代码贡献的迅速增长,以及来自日本的贡献者在定期推动bug修复与改进。每个月的meet-up也都有人过来了解Drupal框架、讨论Drupal问题、展示自定义功能。甚至还有一个用于定期沟通和协作的Slack频道。并且就CI&T的自身经验来说,日本的Drupal学习曲线也不是那么陡峭。在2016年初的时候,CI&T面临过这样的挑战:与几乎没有任何Drupal知识的团队一起创建和改造产品。然而,通过积极参与名为DOJO(另一个日语术语意为“地方之路”)的沉浸式培训课程,CI&T很快成为日本最大的Drupal 8 Acquia认证公司。

同时CI&T认识到贡献是开源项目中的关键概念,我们通过多种方式参与了Drupal社区的发展:提供用户支持、编写文档、翻译文档、测试或开发功能,甚至组织以Drupal为主题的黑客马拉松和赞助Drupal活动。回馈社区是在日本销售Drupal的重要而有效的方式,它允许我们为那些有兴趣将Drupal用作企业CMS的人们提供资源,这样就创造出了更多的商业机会。

随着数字化技术以指数方式进步,企业被迫适应或被抛在后面。具有简单CSS的HTML页面被具有优雅和响应的布局CMS系统取代;电子表格被专门为客户需求而设计的web系统取代。这些进步使得终端用户的期望不断提高。并且,随着市场越来越大,竞争对手也变得越来越多,企业唯有进行创新才能赢得竞争。这是Drupal在日本市场占有巨大优势的背景。令人惊叹的开箱即用CMS功能和协作式开源氛围,结合CI&T专业的Drupal和精益知识,我们获得了市场差异化并能专注于真正重要的事情:为客户及其消费者实现价值最大化。

接受了使用Drupal CMS取代传统HTML网站想法的企业,一般也会考虑引入精益概念。 CI&T抓住了这种思维转变的机遇,利用Drupal成功助力安斯泰来制药集团实现了精益转型。

安斯泰来制药公司是一家全球性的日本制药公司,它有一个雄心勃勃的目标:更新他们的全球网站,并更新在每个国家的本土网站。每个站点的都旨在及时发布重要的药品信息,并在公司与利益相关者之间建立和维护一个渠道。鉴于这个项目涉及到大量网站,站点之间的可重用性便成为优化效率的重要因素。 Drupal凭借其标准、功能和模块附加功能,迅速成为首选技术,事实证明,它的灵活性足以满足40多个不同的本地网站的需求。

比选择Drupal作为主要技术更重要的是,安斯泰来制药开始改变他们的内部流程。随着他们越来越接受这种新的思维方式,他们开始通过新闻发布会和全国范围的IT活动公开推广精益方法,为敏捷和Drupal背书。这是在日本地区推广精益转型的一大步,尽管将更多的数字化项目推向完全精益的思维模式还有很多工作要做。

然而,我认为那将是一个有价值的挑战。日本不断成长的IT行业,与越来越多的公司想通过数字化超越竞争对手,一起成就了促进数字化转型的良好环境,而Drupal则处于引领精益革命的前沿。