NYU Shanghai leverages digital technology to improve undergraduate admissions experience

 
 

The Opportunity

Jointly established by New York University and East China Normal University, New York University Shanghai (NYU Shanghai) is the first American college to receive independent registration status from China's Ministry of Education. As the third degree-granting campus in NYU’s global network, NYU Shanghai combines the best of Chinese and American education, creating a new kind of higher-education model for its talented students against the backdrop of globalization. During their undergraduate studies, students will have the opportunity to spend one to three semesters studying abroad as part of the University’s efforts to create a cross-cultural learning environment that will help students become global citizens.

With its world-class academic resources and cross-cultural learning environment, NYU Shanghai rises to fame rapidly since its 2013 inaugural undergraduate class and attracts more applicants from all over the world each year. Some of its international students chose NYU Shanghai among Harvard University, California University and Cornell University; while some of its Chinese students had rejected offers from University of Hong Kong, Tsinghua University, Peking University, etc. The big increase of applicants bring overwork to NYU Shanghai’s employees, admissions staffs started to spend too much time on time-consuming and dull tasks like dealing with email applications, telephone counseling and manual data entry in Excel.

Challenge

The big increase of applicants bring overwork to NYU Shanghai’s employees, admissions staffs started to spend too much time on time-consuming and dull tasks like dealing with email applications, telephone counseling and manual data entry in Excel.

Background

As a pioneer of campus informationization, NYU Shanghai decided to build a digital channel to engage efficiently with the applicants. This new platform should deliver an effective online application channel to the students and offer a set of more robust online tools to admissions staffs of NYU Shanghai. Features of the platform should also include announcement publishing and updating so the applicants can check the latest enrollment policies in NYU Shanghai online. The goal of this new program was to avoid e-mail and phone communications as much as possible, and maximize work efficiency of the admissions office.

After comparing the code reliability and security of different CMS systems, NYU Shanghai decided to develop the application platform on Drupal 8. CI&T was selected to lead the end-to-end delivery of the project afterwards because of its proven expertise and deep experience in Drupal implementations. Coincidentally enough, CI&T sponsored DrupalCamp China event in NYU shanghai in 2015.

How CI&T Executed

Early in the process, CI&T learned that NYU Shanghai has very strict admissions requirements to its students. Chinese applicants need to take CEE (Chinese College Entrance Examination), finish Common Application and join NYU Shanghai Campus Day event to complete the admissions process. As the room for optimizing national activities (CCE and the Common Application) is very limited, we decided to focus on identifying and solving problems in the Campus Day event.

CI&T China formed a dedicate Lean Pod™ for the project (a Lean Pod™ is a small, hyper productive, team of strategists, engineers and designers working together). The team mix used Design Thinking, Design Sprints, and Lean UX approaches to take client’s ideas to rapid prototyping. In just two months, they successfully delivered a complete Campus Day Event Application System to NYU Shanghai.

Results

The Campus Day Event Application System not only provides applicants a convenient channel to register for the event, but running as the one-stop platform which covers all aspects of the application process. By signing up the system, applicants can complete the following procedures online:

(1) Fill in, submit and print the “ NYU Shanghai Campus Day 2018 Event Application” form online

(2) Browse latest official admissions announcements and FAQs

(3) Check status and results of each application stage (appliciants will receive notifications automaticlly on their cellphone and email when there are any further updates)

(4) Submit CCE scores after receiving pre-admission qualification or entering waitlist

The solution

NYU Shanghai partnered with CI&T to build a digital channel to engage efficiently with the applicants. This new platform delivers an effective online application channel to the students and offers a set of more robust online tools to admissions staffs of NYU Shanghai. Features of the platform also includes announcement publishing and updating so the applicants can check the latest enrollment policies in NYU Shanghai online.

Feedbacks

Released in September 2017, the system is now adopted to NYU Shanghai Admissions Program for 2018. Although the number of applicants continues to increase, the admissions staffs are now distracted from the tedious operation tasks, their feedback on the system includes:

  • The User-friendly interfaces are responsive to any devices
  • Its immersive experience allow students to accomplish the application process totally by themselves, which reduces the communication costs significantly
  • Drupal-based CMS enables them to adjust content as often as needed
  • Admission staffs can update application status accurately and easily with the scanning gun feature
  • The visual and intuitive dashboard provides executives a complete view of the performance, enabling a better assessment in operation and expansion strategies

"Choosing Drupal and bringing CI&T as our partner were paramount to achieve our goals when launching this strategic portal for NYU Shanghai", said the admission staffs at NYU Shanghai.

Results

Released in September 2017, the system is now adopted to NYU Shanghai Admissions Program for 2018. Although the number of applicants continues to increase, the admissions staffs are now distracted from the tedious operation tasks.

 

About NYU Shanghai
shanghai.nyu.edu

Jointly established by New York University and East China Normal University, New York University Shanghai (NYU Shanghai) is the first American college to receive independent registration status from China's Ministry of Education. NYU Shanghai exemplifies the highest ideals of contemporary higher education by uniting the intellectual resources of New York University’s global network with the multidimensional richness of China. NYU Shanghai guides students toward academic and moral excellence, prepares them for leadership in all walks of life, and contributes to the endless quest for new insights into the human condition and the natural world.

 

About CI&T
www.ciandt.com.cn

CI&T is the digital technology agency empowering Agile Growth for the world’s biggest companies by leveraging advanced technologies including Cloud, IoT, Big Data, Machine Learning/AI, Social, Mobility. For over 20 years, CI&T has been a trusted partner in helping global businesses such as Coca-Cola, Johnson & Johnson, Walmart and Motorola build, manage, and transform the enterprise through the right combination of next generation technologies. With 2000 Digital Business Experts and Engineers in the USA, Brazil, UK, Australia, Japan, and China, CI&T is big enough to handle the needs of Fortune 100 clients while remaining agile, lean and able to move bold ideas to market fast.

CI&T助力上纽大推出本科申请系统:

全面提升招生工作体验

 
 

机遇

上海纽约大学(NYU Shanghai,简称“上纽大”)是中国教育部正式批准设立的第一所中美合作大学。作为一所世界级的,多元文化融合,文理工学科兼有的研究型大学,上海纽约大学融合中美两国教育精华,为优秀学生提供全球化背景下全新的、全英语的高等教育模式。本科阶段,学生有一到两个学期前往纽约大学的曼哈顿、阿联酋阿布扎比校区或其他11个分布在全世界各地的学习中心教学中心等地进行海外学习。

凭借世界一流的师资力量和多元的校园文化(中外学生比例为1:1),上海纽约大学自2013年开放招生以来,迅速在国内外吸引了众多敢于挑战的学子。国际学生有放弃哈佛大学、加州大学、康奈尔大学等选择此学校的,国内学生也同样有放弃香港大学、清华大学、北京大学等来上纽大学习的。随着报考学生人数的激增,上纽大招生办的老师们每周都要花费大量时间处理邮件申请和电话咨询、在Excel中进行手工信息录入,工作负担越来越重。

挑战

上纽大招生办的老师们每周都要花费大量时间处理邮件申请和电话咨询、在Excel中进行手工信息录入,工作负担越来越重。

项目背景

始终走在校园信息化最前沿的上纽大决定作出改变——通过构建全新数字化平台,最大程度上避免邮件和电话沟通的情况,向学生提供在线申请渠道的同时,全面提升招生办公室的工作效率。在上纽大招生办老师们的构想中,该平台在前端将是一个面向学生的报名系统,在后端则是一个便捷的数据管理及分析工具。此外,新平台还要支持公告信息的发布及更新,以便申请的学生们可以实时了解上纽大最新的招生政策。

在功能需求基本明确,考察过不同CMS系统代码的安全性、健壮性后,上海纽约大学决定基于Drupal 8内容管理系统进行在线招生平台的开发。经过一轮供应商筛选、对比,他们最终选择了Drupal开发实力领先、建站经验丰富的CI&T作为整个项目的设计和技术统筹。巧合的是,热衷推广开源社区的思艾特,曾于2015年在上海纽约大学赞助过“Drupal中国营”活动。

CI&T是如何执行的

项目过程中,CI&T了解到上海纽约大学对学生的综合能力要求极高。大陆申请者不仅要参加高考,完成通用申请(美国大学入学申请),还要通过参与“校园日活动”面对面地向老师展示自己的英语能力、求知欲、领导力等各方面综合素质。其中,高考为国家统一安排的线下考试,“通用申请”通过美国大学本科入学申请系统Common Application(www.commonapp.org)在线进行,都没有多少优化空间。所以本次项目主要研究录取程序中的“校园日活动”环节的信息收集及发布的优化。

思艾特中国公司针对上纽大项目成立了专门的Lean Pod小组(即小型却高效的数字化专家团队,由策略师、工程师和设计师组成),该团队运用设计思维、设计冲刺和精益用户体验等方法,迅速将客户的想法做成逻辑关系清晰的产品原型,在短短两个月内便基于Drupal完成了“上海纽约大学校园日活动报名系统”的开发和交付。

成果

“校园日活动报名系统”不仅向学生提供了一个便捷的校园日活动报名渠道,更包括浏览招生政策、查询录取状态、登记高考分数等功能,涵盖整个招生环节需要双向沟通的部分,是上海纽约大学一站式的线上招生报名系统。登录“校园日活动报名系统”,申请学生可以在线完成:

(1)填写、提交、打印《上海纽约大学2018年校园日活动申请表》

(2)查看最新官方招生公告和常见问题解答

(3)查看各阶段申请状态和结果(申请状态和结果如有更新,将第一时间通过绑定的邮箱和手机告知)

(4)获得预录取和待录取资格的学生在线填写高考成绩

解决方案

CI&T助力上纽大构建全新数字化平台,该平台在前端是一个面向学生的报名系统,在后端则是一个便捷的数据管理及分析工具。此外,新平台还要支持公告信息的发布及更新,以便申请的学生们可以实时了解上纽大最新的招生政策。

反馈

新平台于2017年9月正式上线,现已投入上海纽约大学2018年本科招生工作中。虽然新学年报考上纽大的学生数较前一年进一步大幅增长,招生办的工作人员们却已经从过去繁琐的工作中解脱出来。上海纽约大学对新平台的反馈包括:

  • 友好的界面设计和沉浸式的体验,使得学生们可以自助通过系统完成申请,大大降低沟通成本
  • 灵活的CMS,方便管理员进行网站内容的维护及更新
  • 扫描枪的引入,使得工作人员可以准确、高效地更改学生的申请状态
  • 图形化的报表,可以更加直观向学校管理层展示招生数据,方便他们把控业务、调整发展战略
  • 响应式网站,确保用户可通过任何设备都能获得良好的体验

上海纽约大学招生办评价此次合作道:"使用Drupal进行开发及选择CI&T作为合作伙伴,对这一战略项目的落地都至关重要!"

成果

新平台于2017年9月正式上线,现已投入上海纽约大学2018年本科招生工作中。虽然新学年报考上纽大的学生数较前一年进一步大幅增长,招生办的工作人员们却已经从过去繁琐的工作中解脱出来。

 

关于上海纽约大学
shanghai.nyu.edu

上海纽约大学(NYU Shanghai,简称“上纽大”)是中国教育部正式批准设立的第一所中美合作大学。作为一所世界级的,多元文化融合,文理工学科兼有的研究型大学,上海纽约大学致力于践行当代高等教育的最高理想,将纽约大学全球教育体系中丰富的智力资源融入灿烂的中国文化,带领学生获得学业与精神的双重收获,培养他们成为人生旅程的领导者,在无涯的学海中求索关于人与自然的新知卓见。

 

关于思艾特
www.ciandt.com.cn

思艾特(CI&T)是一家数字科技公司,精于云计算、物联网、大数据、机器学习/人工智能、移动端等技术,专注于为全球大型公司和组织提供“敏捷增长”战略服务。在过去20多年中,思艾特备受诸如可口可乐、强生、沃尔玛、摩托罗拉等全球性企业的信任,成功助其实现数字化转型。凭借全球范围内2000余名企业数字化专家和工程师,思艾特成功在美国、巴西、英国、澳大利亚、日本和中国解决了众多财富百强企业的商业需求,不断追求将创新性的概念以敏捷、精益化的方式推向市场。