Astellas Pharma replatformed its corporate site to strengthen web governance with Drupal 8

 
 

The Challenge

Actively partnering with academia, research institutes, and biotech companies globally, Astellas Pharma has a sales network that covers more than 50 countries. With these partnerships and an expanding global presence, Astellas wanted to create a global website, as well as be able to update and refresh its local sites. Each website’s objective was to provide the latest company news and right information in a timely manner, and to create and maintain a channel between the company and its stakeholders worldwide.

Challenge

Astellas Pharma wanted to replatform it’s corporate site to further strengthen the publication of important information and governance in a more timely, secure and stable manner, regardless of region or language.

Why Drupal was Chosen

Selected as the digital technology agency partner, CI&T identified three main pillars to support a unified Astellas digital presence early in the process:
   ˙Web governance
   ˙New brand guidelines/Global rollout
   ˙Global optimization of the WEB Platform

With a global rollout in mind, reusability was paramount. With its standards and features and add-on modules capabilities, it was an easy decision when it came to choosing Drupal. Another benefit to Drupal was its cost model (proprietary/licenses vs open source) compared to other platforms evaluated.

CI&T knows that Drupal is a powerful framework that provides out-of-the-box features that can be easily extended and customized. This meant we could use Drupal’s existing features, yet customize the code where necessary. Also, Drupal’s offering of general-purpose, high-quality modules - such as Workbench Moderation - meant that Astellas could implement code more quickly while meeting business requirements.

How CI&T Executed

Astellas Pharma corporate site replatform was broken into three phases. The first was establishing web governance. The second was the application of new branding guidelines as part of the global expansion. Third was the global optimization of web / IT infrastructure in relation to the overall system strategy. In addition, the site needed to be responsive and easy to manage and scale without increasing resources.

Governance was an incredibly important aspect to the success of the project. By unifying systems into Drupal and Acquia Cloud Site Factory, changes are universally tracked, managed and acted upon by a core group. This oversight and security gives Astellas the ability to launch new country sites in a timely manner with the full knowledge that every site is fully protected by rigorous security and monitoring systems.

Results

Along with governance, the new global platform is also secure, reliable and managed. With the use of Acquia Cloud Site Factory, Astellas Pharma has been able to increase operational efficiency such as server configuration, capacity support corresponding to multiple load balancers, and so on.

“We guarantee platform operation on 24 hours and 365 days, we also manage surveillance and operating environments,” Mr. Yoichiro Kawanami, section manager of the information system department at Astellas Pharma, said, “So we have a complete system for troubleshooting. Security measures for WAF and CDN functions are provided through Acquia Cloud Edge Protect which can block malicious attacks.”

The solution

With digital technology agency partner CI&T, Astellas Pharma started using Acquia's cloud solutions and Drupal 8 to develop a standardised platform for the development, management and governance of multiple multilingual websites.

Feedbacks

The corporate site for a global audience with English and Japanese as the two initial languages was launched in June 2017. Using Site Factory, Astellas Pharma will continue to deliver more than 30 regional sites serving the Americas, EMEA, and Asian markets, which are all independently operated.

Speaking with Markezine, Mr. Masaaki Matsuda, part of the public relations department at Astellas Pharma, said "By unifying and managing websites of each country around the corporate site, Astellas' digital properties are centered around vision, standing at the cutting edge, changing medical care and scientific advances into patient value."

According to Mr. Kawanami, with its flexibility, security and dedicated community, Drupal and Acquia will become the standard of the future for enterprises in Japan and the wider Asia Pacific region.

Results

This project, supported by CI&T, has driven the "Astellas Way" initiative by executing a digital governance strategy that focuses on key pillars including security, time to market, quality, standardisation, innovation, and user experience.

 

About Astellas
www.astellas.com

Astellas Pharma Inc., based in Tokyo, Japan, is a company dedicated to improving the health of people around the world through the provision of innovative and reliable pharmaceutical products. We focus on Urology, Oncology, Immunology, Nephrology and Neuroscience as prioritized therapeutic areas while advancing new therapeutic areas and discovery research leveraging new technologies/modalities. We are also creating new value by combining internal capabilities and external expertise in the medical/healthcare business. Astellas is on the forefront of healthcare change to turn innovative science into value for patients.

 

About CI&T
www.ciandt.com.cn

CI&T, the lean digital transformation partner for the world's biggest companies, is a pioneer at delivering speed-at-scale through the application of design thinking, lean methodologies and advanced tech, including Machine Learning/AI, Advanced Analytics, Cloud and Mobility. For over 20 years, CI&T has been a trusted partner for the most complex global engagements inside companies including Coca-Cola, Johnson & Johnson, AB-InBev, Itau Bank and Motorola. With over 2,500 digital business strategists, designers and engineers in the USA, Brazil, UK, Australia, Japan and China, CI&T is big enough to scale to the needs of Fortune 100 clients yet agile enough to achieve the speed-to-market today's customers demand.

安斯泰来集团基于Drupal 8重建全球网站平台

 
 

机遇

安斯泰来制药集团是日本第二大制药企业。作为一家研发型制药企业,安斯泰来与全球的学术界、研究机构和生物科技公司都有紧密的联系,目前营销网络已经覆盖了全球50多个国家。随着这些合作关系的深入及全球业务的扩张,安斯泰希望在推出一个全球网站的同时,面向多个国家上线自己的本土站点。从而在不同市场上实现公司新闻与信息的及时披露,在公司及其全球利益相关者之间建立一个良好的沟通渠道。

挑战

安斯泰来制药集团希望重新构建其企业网站平台,以更及时、安全、稳定的方式管理其全球各地区的站点内容,并进一步加强重要信息在数字渠道得发布和监管。

为什么选择Drupal

作为安斯泰来的技术合作伙伴,CI&T在项目早期定义了以下三大支柱,奠定了之后安斯泰网络统一的形象的基础:
   ˙Web监管
   ˙全新品牌指南/推向世界
   ˙全球性的Web平台优化

因为网站要在全球范围内推出,可重复性是最重要的。从标准、功能和附加模块性能的角度出发,选择Drupal变成了一个简单的决定。同时,与其他软件系统相比,Drupal的成本更优(专有/许可vs开源)。

另外,因为过去的经验,CI&T很清楚Drupal是一个多么强大的内容管理框架。它提供了大量可扩展和定制的开箱即用功能,这意味着我们既可以直接使用Drupal的现有功能,也可以在必要时自定义代码。另外,Drupal发布了大量通用且高质量的模块(如Workbench Moderation),可以让安斯泰来在快速实施代码的同时即满足业务需求。

CI&T是如何执行的

安斯泰来的企业网站平台重建项目可分为三个阶段。首先是建立网络监管;其次是全新品牌指南的应用和全球推广;第三是整个系统战略层面的Web/IT基础设施优化。此外,该网站需要是响应式的,易于管理和扩展(在无需增投资源的情况下扩展)。

实现Web监管对项目的成功至关重要。将系统移到Drupal和Acquia Cloud Site Factory中后,平台上的任何一点变动都是可以追踪和管理到的。这种把控能力和安全性赋予了安斯泰来在不同国家快速推出地区站点的能力,且每个子站点都受到全面的安全保护。

成果

除了监管方便,新的全球网站平台也非常安全、可靠和易于管理。通过使用Acquia Cloud Site Factory,安斯泰来集团极大地提升了服务器配置、与多个负载平衡器对应的容量支持等方面的运营效率。

安斯泰来集团信息部经理Yoichiro Kawanami先生评价道:“我们非常有信心新平台能够24小时365天地平稳运营,同时我们也保持着对操作系统的监控。因为我们已经有了一个完整的故障排除系统。Acquia Cloud Edge Protect提供的WAF和CDN保护措施,可以阻止潜在的恶意攻击。”

解决方案

在数字化合作伙伴CI&T的支持下,安斯泰来已采用Acquia云计算解决方案和Drupal 8构建出标准化平台,并完成了集团名下多个多语言网站的开发和管理工作。

反馈

针对全球受众群体的英文网站与日文网站已于2017年6月正式上线。安斯泰来制药集团将继续使用Acquia Site Factory, 继续在美洲、欧洲、中东和亚洲市场推出30多个独立运营的地区性网站。

在接受日媒Markezine采访时,安斯泰来公共关系部的Masataki Matsuda先生说:“以企业站为基点,统一和监管公司在每个国家的地区性网站,确保了公司的数字化资产与企业愿景的一致性,有助于集团站上不断变化的医疗行业的最前沿,将科学的进步转变为患者的价值”。

Kawanami先生还提到,凭借极大的灵活性、安全性和活跃的社区,Drupal和Acquia正在逐渐主宰日本和亚太市场,成为企业网站建设的首选的软件系统。

成果

本项目推进了“Astellas Way”计划的落地,即重点关注安全性、上市时间、质量、标准化、创新和用户体验等关键性支柱,实施安斯泰来集团的数字化管理战略。

 

关于安斯泰来
www.astellas.com

安斯泰来制药集团总部位于日本东京,是一家致力于提供创新和可靠的药品,改善全世界范围人类健康的制药企业。集团锁定泌尿、移植免疫/感染性疾病、肿瘤、神经科学和糖尿病并发症/肾病五个重点研发领域,并拓展了肌肉疾病、眼科两个新的治疗领域。集团立志处于不断变化的医疗行业的最前沿,将科学的进步转变为患者的价值。

 

关于思艾特
www.ciandt.com.cn

思艾特(CI&T)是一家数字化解决方案提供商,精于Drupal CMS、机器学习/人工智能、Magento电子商务系统开发和移动端等技术,专注于为全球大型公司和组织提供“精益数字化转型”服务。在过去20多年中,思艾特备受诸如可口可乐、谷歌、强生、沃尔玛、摩托罗拉等全球性企业的信任,成功助其实现数字化转型。凭借全球范围内2500余名企业数字化专家和工程师,思艾特成功在美国、巴西、英国、澳大利亚、日本和中国解决了众多财富500强企业的商业需求。