AOKI swiftly launched new subscription business "suitsbox" with CI&T and Magento

 
 

Project Overview

AOKI, one of the leading suits & fashion retail chains in Japan, is a company that embraces continuous innovation. With its nationwide store network and vertical merchandising system, AOKI offers a wide variety of business wear and accessories covering the needs of a wide range of age.

Having seen the disruptive and exponential growth in the subscription services market and the cultural changes in what customers value as seen in the recent share economy market, AOKI identified the opportunity to develop and operate an online platform for renting its business wears as a monthly subscription to young elites in Japan. For such a challenge, they reached out to CI&T to understand how Lean Digital could deliver the productivity and collaboration needed to turn the business idea into a reality.

Given its strong end to end digital capabilities, CI&T was quickly chosen as the service design and technology partner after the initial consultation.

The Challenge

Develop a cloud-based subscription platform that enables young elites in Japan to rent business wear in full set for their day-to-day work as well as special occasions.

Why Magento

AOKI was committed to utilize a cloud solution to launch suitsbox by the end of April 2018. Multiple platforms were assessed for their compatibility for this challenge. To ensure the successful launch in a tight schedule, CI&T proposed and brought Magento Commerce Cloud as the key platform for this solution, which vastly contributed with its reliability and versatile out-of-the-box features.

Magento’s standard features such as order, product and customer management along with its modern back-office interface enabled CI&T teams to touch the ground running, immediately focusing on the customizations needed for the suitsbox platform. Also, Magento extensions' ecosystem were paramount in streamlining the project, especially during the integrations and localisations phase, confirming how mature Magento is even for the Japanese domestic market.

How CI&T Executed

Early in the process, CI&T conducted an intense product inception phase with key AOKI personnel, through design thinking workshops and user research, including a crowd-fund market validation. After that, CI&T took the lead on the UX/UI design with a mobile-first approach, followed by implementing the platform leveraging CI&T's Lean-Agile process.

Being a platform fully developed in Magento meets AOKI’s integration demands with Stripe, Salesforce and Amazon Connect. In particular, system integration with Stripe’s payment APIs brought critical payment security, as well as the robust subscription management feature which facilitates a seamless user experience and increases the probability that customers will continue their subscription.

As the project progressed, it became increasingly apparent to AOKI that CI&T’s Lean methodologies were critical to the success of the project. By utilizing Lean, the team was able to have quality code in production within 4 months. Not only was this code being produced, but it had already been through User Acceptance Testing, so AOKI knew the code being produced was exactly what it wanted.

The Results

WIth our lean and agile approach supported with project management practice, we were able to lead and collaborate with AOKI to focus on user stories and features that created business value. Also, the bi-weekly scrum schedule made it possible to gradually build up the mobile-first user interface and the back-office capabilities, along with discovering technical challenges and risks that were managed with confidence.

Released in April 2018 in Japan, suitsbox platform carries apparel in different sizes, offering 3 different subscription plans. Renting out an economy box with 1 suit, 1 shirt and 1 necktie costs ¥7,800 a month, for example, and goes all the way up to ¥24,800 for over 10 items. With an additional ¥5,000, customers can get unlimited swaps within the month. Rental prices include shipping, dry cleaning, and ironing of the garments.

The Solution

CI&T took the lead on the inception, design, implementation and rollout of suitsbox, fully developed on Magento, integrating Stripe, Salesforce and Amazon Connect.

Feedbacks

With this program, CI&T’s Lean-Agile process was proven to be highly effective for the new startup-like service development by the Japanese enterprise. AOKI team was able to confirm and test the actual moving site in a bi-weekly period, which enabled the agile and iterative approach necessary for such innovative but still fragile business concept to become a reality.

“We are delighted to introduce this innovation called suitsbox to the suits industry in collaboration with CI&T and Magento. We hope that young business persons and millennial customers will enjoy fashionable and professional attire more easily with suitsbox,”
- Daisuke Naganuma, suitsbox Business Director

The Results

Suitsbox was launched successfully with stability. Added was a surprise of advancing the launch date, despite the tight deadline and the complex business requirements and integrations necessary for a subscription service.

 

About AOKI
www.aoki-hd.co.jp

AOKI is Japan’s suit specialty store that provides high quality, highly functional suit, formal, casual and ladies' wear. With its nationwide store network and vertical merchandising system, AOKI offers a wide variety of business ware and accessories covering the needs of a wide range of age. AOKI, which established its own stylist system in 2004, provides styling that is optimal for customer preferences and lifestyle. AOKI conducts collaborative research with the Faculty of Textile Science and Technology of Shinshu University to strengthen product R&D.

 

About CI&T
www.ciandt.com.cn

CI&T, the digital technology agency for the world's biggest companies, is a pioneer in the application of lean methodologies and next-gen tech for the enterprise level organizations, technologies including Magento eCommerce, Drupal CMS, Machine Learning/AI, Advanced Analytics, Cloud and Mobility. For over 20 years, CI&T has been a trusted partner for the most complex global engagements inside companies including Astellas Pharma, Ocean Network Express, Coca-Cola, Google, Johnson & Johnson, AB-InBev, iHeart Media and Motorola. With over 2,500 digital business experts and engineers in Japan, China, USA, Brazil and UK, CI&T is big enough to scale to the needs of Fortune 100 clients, and yet agile enough to achieve the speed to market today's customers demand.

思艾特助力AOKI推出云端衣橱suitsbox:
基于Magento的男式西装订阅平台

 
 

项目背景

AOKI是日本领先的零售连锁店,以高质量、紧跟潮流的商务套装而知名。凭借遍及全国的门店网络和垂直销售系统,AOKI向日本市场输出了大量的商务服装和配饰,覆盖了年轻上班族的广泛喜好和需求。在订阅式租赁市场爆发式增长,和共享经济改变消费者习惯的背景下,AOKI捕捉到一个全新的商业机会:开发和运营服装租赁平台,面向日本的年轻白领提供包月租衣服务。

面对这样的挑战,他们联系到CI&T,以了解我们的精益数字化方法能否产出将该商业理念变为现实所需的生产力和协作力。凭借强大的端到端交付能力,CI&T在初步咨询后迅速被选为项目的设计与技术合作伙伴。

挑战

基于云计算技术构造全新电商平台,面向日本的年轻白领提供包月租衣服务,使他们能够以以低于市场的价格全套租用日常工作及特殊场合所需的商务服装。

为什么选择Magento

AOKI计划在2018年4月底之前基于云计算技术推出该平台。项目开始前,AOKI对多个平台的兼容性进行过评估。为确保能在短时间内从零到实现上线访问,CI&T选择Magento Commerce Cloud作为此解决方案的关键平台,该平台的众多开箱即用对项目的成功至关重要。

其中,Magento的标准订单、产品和客户管理功能及后台界面使CI&T团队能够迅速落地基本电商功能,从而专注于定制suitsbox平台所需的其他高级功能。此外,Magento扩展程序生态系统对于项目精简尤为重要,特别是在整合和本地化阶段。以上这一切都体现了Magento在日本市场的成熟程度。

思艾特是如何执行的

项目早期,CI&T同AOKI的关键性职员一起,通过设计工作坊和用户研究(包括众筹市场验证)展开了紧锣密鼓的需求发掘。接着CI&T团队再采用移动优先方法进行用户体验和用户界面设计,最后再通过精益敏捷流程交付项目。

完全基于Magento开发的平台,刚好吻合AOKI对与Stripe、Salesforce和Amazon Connect集成的需求。其中,集成Stripe支付API带来了关键性的支付安全性,及强大的订阅管理功能。它帮助实现了用户体验的无缝衔接,并增加了客户持续订阅的可能性。

随着项目的进展,AOKI越来越清晰地意识到CI&T的精益方法对项目成功的重要性。通过运用敏捷开发方法和精益原则,CI&T成功在4个月的时间内将高质量代码发布到正式环境(不仅完成代码编写,还通过了用户验收测试)。之后,AOKI就可以开始验证市场了。

成果

基于精益敏捷方法和项目管理实践,我们引导AOKI并与其协作,将精力专注于能够创造商业价值的用户故事和功能上。其中,通过每周两次的Scrum,我们逐渐开发出移动优先用户界面和后台功能。Scrum活动也让我们在面对技术挑战和风险更加从容。

suitsbox (suitsbox.com) 于2018年4月正式发布,该平台提供全尺寸的西装、衬衫、裤子及领带,和3种不同的订阅套餐。其中,租用包含一套西装、一件衬衫和一条领带的经济箱每月需7800日元;租用包含三套西装、五件衬衫和三条领带的“标准+”套餐每月需24800日元。额外支付5000日元后,客户可以在当月内享受无限次换穿服务。以上租赁价格已包括配送、干洗和熨烫费用。

解决方案

经需求验证、设计、开发和上线等环节,CI&T基于Magento平台,端到端地为AOKI打造出suitsbox男式西装订阅平台。该方案整合了Stripe、Salesforce 和Amazon Connect技术。

反馈

项目结果再一次证明,CI&T的精益敏捷流程对于企业开展内部创业非常有效。 AOKI团队能够每两周都能配合测试一次迭代中的移动站点,最终使得这种创新业务理念成为现实。

谈及此次合作,AOKI株式会社suitsbox业务总监Daisuke Naganuma表示:“我们很高兴与CI&T、Magento合作在西装行业推出这一创新的包月订阅式云衣橱。对于年轻商务人士和千禧一代的顾客来说,suitsbox在让他们变时尚和专业的同时,还能为他们节省金钱和时间。

 

成果

suitsbox (suitsbox.com) 于2018年4月正式发布,是西装行业的第一款包月订阅式云衣橱。对于年轻商务人士和千禧一代的顾客来说,suitsbox在让他们变时尚和专业的同时,还能为他们节省金钱和时间。

 

关于AOKI
www.aoki-hd.co.jp

AOKI是日本领先的零售连锁店,以高质量、紧跟潮流的商务套装而知名。凭借遍及全国的门店网络和垂直销售系统,AOKI向日本市场输出了大量的商务服装和配饰,覆盖了年轻上班族的广泛喜好和需求。 AOKI于2004年成立了造型师系统,是第一家为根据顾客喜好和生活方式提供搭配服务的服装零售商。为加强研发能力,AOKI与信州大学纺织科学与技术学院共同开展了一系列研究项目,该学院是国际知名的纤维工程国际研究中心。

 

关于思艾特
www.ciandt.com.cn

思艾特(CI&T)是一家数字化解决方案提供商,精于Magento eCommerce、Drupal CMS、机器学习/人工智能、云计算和移动端等技术,专注于为全球大型公司和组织提供“精益数字化”服务。在过去20多年中,思艾特备受诸如可口可乐、谷歌、强生、沃尔玛、摩托罗拉等全球性企业的信任,成功助其实现数字化转型。凭借全球范围内2500余名企业数字化专家和工程师,思艾特成功在美国、巴西、英国、澳大利亚、日本和中国解决了众多财富500强企业的商业需求。